RM

Leon Contreras

lc_photography

The Academic Building stands at the crossroads of the campus. Completed in 1914, it stands on the site of Old Main, the first campus building, which burned to the ground in 1912. Its most prominent feature is its copper dome, which is green with oxidation, much like the Statue of Liberty. When the building was constructed, it was one of the first on campus to use rebar. Its architect, A&M Professor F. E. Giesecke knew little about reinforced concrete, “so [he] just figured out the amount of steel…necessary and doubled it”.

Views

15,605

Downloads

205
  • Published on November 20, 2017

  • lc_photography

  • Free to use under Photop License

Related Images